Alexander tastes V8 power, and loves it!

Christchurch’s own Tom Alexander made a strong impression on the 2011/12 NZ Formula Ford Championship, and the young rising star recently has his first taste of an NZV8, when he took to the wheel of the Albany Toyota Falcon at Hampton Downs.

Alexander, under the watchful eye of mentor Ken Smith, circulated clean and smooth in his first drive with a roof over his head, and finished the session impressing both on the time sheets, and in the pit lane.

“[The NZV8] was a lot of fun to drive and I loved the experience,” Tom said.

“I found the transition pretty easy and the difference was that I had to get used to being very patient on the throttle to limit the understeer. You could certainly see me in a V8 in the future as I work towards my goal to be a V8 Supercar driver.”

But first, Alexander has the Formula Ford Championship title on his mind.

“My plans for the Formula Ford are coming along well I am just finishing off my budget as we speak.”

Tom extended an enthusiastic thank you to Andrew and Haydn MacKenzie for the opportunity, which came about unannounced during the weekend’s Info & Ride Day for the NZV8 class, coinciding with a General Meeting for competitors and teams.

A total of 18 cars, both new and old, have signalled their intention to compete this season.

Leave a comment